Movin’ on up?

I wonder how other companies celebrate landing their first round of funding.  Maybe a big steak dinner, a night on the town, or at least a round of drinks at a local bar?  Not us.  Instead, we get evicted from our office space.

Well, evicted is way too strong of a word.  In fact, we’d been very lucky over the past several months to borrow high-quality office space from our VC.  But we knew the day would come when they would want to reclaim the space, and this week turned out to be the week.  They recently hired a few new people, and coincidentally, we just brought on a few new team members ourselves.

Since we had to vacate by the end of the day, I spent yesterday afternoon packing all of my belongings into boxes.  With nowhere else to go, I decided to shove everything into the trunk of my car.  In the muggy, humid weather, I lugged the heavy boxes down to my car, and I must have looked pretty disheveled.  Not exactly what I pictured on the day we put out our first company press release about our round of financing.  The irony of the situation struck me, so I took a snapshot of my new “office”:

new

So what happens now?  Luckily, we’ve already signed a lease on our own, bigger office space, but the space won’t be ready for a couple of weeks.  In the meantime, we’ll work remotely, and when we need to meet face-to-face, we’ll take advantage of public places with wi-fi access.  Even though I don’t drink coffee, I think I’ll be spending a lot of time at the local Starbucks. 

A quick tip for you caffeine fans: I just discovered that you can find the addresses of the local Starbucks by text messaging your zip code to 697289 (MYSBUX).  

1 Response to “Movin’ on up?”


  1. 1 aimeecanderson June 8, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    While personally I am also a Starbucks fan, for those you wanting to get local listings for Dunkin Donuts, Pete’s or local coffee houses in your area, use the Google text service. Simply text coffee + zip code or city to short code 46646. Google will shoot you back a list with addresses and phones. Great service for coffee listings or anything else you might be looking for on the go.


Leave a Reply

